Way Back When on Christmas

Way back when, in my childhood, we had 8 kids growing up in our house throughout the years, and we didn’t always get a lot for Christmas, but we always got something. We did the whole milk and cookies thing, and mom would have us put carrots out for Rudolf. We’d watch the Santa Tracker on the news. I could never sleep on Christmas Eve, because I was sooo excited! We’d get up at the butt crack of dawn, and our mom would tell us it’s too early, go back to bed. Then I had my own kids, and there were times when they didn’t get a lot for Christmas, but they always got something. They did the whole milk and cookies thing, and I had them put carrots out for Rudolf. We’d watch the Santa Tracker on the news. I could never sleep on Christmas Eve, because I was so excited! They’d get up at the butt crack of dawn, and I would tell them it’s too early, go back to bed. Now my kids are grown, and Santa goes to their houses for their kids. I eat the cookies instead of leave them for Santa, and no more carrots go out for Rudolf here. I don’t watch the Santa Tracker on the news anymore. I still can’t sleep on Christmas Eve, and my grandkids get my kids up at the butt crack of dawn….and I finally get to sleep in on Christmas.

Leave a Reply

