The Words “I Love You”

The spoken words “I love you” are merely just 3 spoken words.  Love is more than 3 words.  Love is a feeling that you should give to others, and that you should receive also.

Without that feeling, they are just 3 words.  If someone says “I love you” but you just don’t feel it….and you have to ask yourself “Do they really?”…well, they are just words.

Don’t just tell people “I love you.”  Make them feel it…show them.  If they have to question your love for them, perhaps you are just telling them those 3 empty words.

In my family, the words “I love you” were rarely spoken…but that love was never, ever questioned.  Because we FELT it.  We knew.  Love is more than 3 words.

Yesterday I received a gift from my brother.  It was a beautiful portrait that he drew of me.  He left it on my doorstep.  I have not seen or talked to my brother in some time.  But, this was an act of love.  Despite the fact that I had not seen him in quite some time, I have never questioned the love.  But, this was just a bit of reinforcement that he still loves his family.

So, think before you use those words “I love you” ….are you speaking empty words?  Are you trying to convince them, or yourself?  Without the feeling they are just 3 empty words.  my portrait 005

Leave a Reply

